The International Monitoring Team – Mindanao

The International Monitoring Team – Mindanao was established in October 2004.  At the initial phase of the deployment, the IMT was responsible for observing, monitoring, verifying, investigating, and reporting on the enforcement of the Mutual Cessation of Hostilities between the two parties to the GPH and MILF Peace Panels and the Malaysian Secretariat. In 2007, the Terms of Reference (ToR) on the Socio-Economic Assistance Aspects was agreed upon by the Parties for Japan to participate in IMT. Subsequently, the Agreement on the Civilian Protection Component (CPC) of the IMT was signed by the parties on 27 October 2009. The current ToR governing the mandate of the IMT was signed by the Peace Panels of GPH and MILF in Kuala Lumpur on 10 February 2011.

The objective of IMT, as stated in the ToR, is to “monitor the  Implementation of the Agreement on Peace between the GPH and MILF of 22 June 2001 and its Implementing Guidelines on the Security Aspects of 7 August 2001 and Implementing Guidelines on the Humanitarian, Rehabilitation, and Development Aspects of 7 May 2002 (Tripoli Agreement) and Agreement on the Civilian Protection Component (CPC) of  the IMT of 27 October 2009″.


The area of coverage for IMT-M is larger than Mindanao itself because Palawan Islands are also included in The IMT’s mandate.


The International Monitoring Team in Mindanao is headed by Malaysia and are divided into 4 main components which is the Security Component, the Socio-Economic Assistance Component, the Civillian Protection Component and the Humanitarian, Rehabilitation and Development Component. Five countries are involved with the IMT namely  Malaysia, Brunei, Indonesia, Japan, Norway and the European Union and are assisted by various Governmental and Non Governmental Organizations both locally and Internationally.

The IMT consists of a Headquarters and 5 Team Sites which covers whole of the mandated Area of Responsibility. The Headquarters is located in Cotabato City and the 5 Team Sites dispersed throughout Mindanao are :

  1. Team Site 1 in Cotabato City which covers areas of Maguindanao, North Cotabato and Bukidnon.
  2. Team Site 2 in Iligan City which covers areas of Lanao Del Norte and Lanao Del Sur.
  3. Team Site 3 in Zamboanga City which covers aresa of Zamboanga Peninsular, Basilan, Sulu, Tawi-Tawi and Palawan Island.
  4. Team Site 4 in General Santos City which covers areas of Sultan Kudarat, South Cotabato, Sarangani and Davao Del Sur.
  5. Team Site 5 in Davao City which covers areas of Davao del Norte, Davao Oriental and Compostella Valley.



Organization Structure of IMT

IMT Organization Structure


Effectiveness of IMT

As shown on the diagram, there has been marked decrease in the number of Ceasefire Violations since the establishment of IMT in 2004. However, there was a period of IMT withdrawal in 2008/2009 and the number of ceasefire violations increased before the re-establishment of IMT in 2009/2010.

Effectiveness of IMT

The IMT hopes to continue assisting all parties involved in the ongoing peace process  for a resolution that will benefit everyone. Together we make it happen.